# Closing your account

> What happens when I close my account     When you close your account Turo will     Cancel any upcoming trips Those trips will be subject to ournbs

Source: https://help.turo.com/en_us/closing-your-account-SJQn4EeEq

Last updated: 2026-04-30T16:50:00.477Z

## What happens when I close my account?

When you close your account, Turo will: 

*   Cancel any upcoming trips. Those trips will be subject to our [Cancellation Policy](https://turo.com/policies/cancellation), so depending on the timing, you may be charged a cancellation fee. 
*   Hold you responsible for paying any unpaid tickets, tolls, fees, reimbursements, or claims tied to past trips. In fact, you won’t be able to close your account if you have an in-progress claim or balance due. 
*   Remove any vehicles you have listed on the platform. 
*   Require you to contact us if you decide to reopen your account.  

## How do I close my account?

Follow the instructions below to close your account via the Turo mobile app or the Turo website. **Important:** To protect your account and personal data, we don’t accept third-party requests to close or delete a user’s account. You must close it yourself or contact us directly to request we close it. If you have an in-progress trip or a balance due, you’ll be unable to close your account until 72 hours after the trip ends and/or after any unpaid balance has been resolved.

### From the mobile app

*   Open the Turo app. 
*   Go to the menu at the bottom of the screen.
*   Tap the person icon. 
*   Choose “Account.”
*   Scroll to the bottom of the page and click  “Close my account.” 
*   Read the content in the pop-up box.  
*   If you still want to close your account, click “Continue.”

### From the web

*   Log in to Turo and access your Account page from the dropdown menu at the top of the screen.
*   Scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Close my account.” 
*   Read the content in the pop-up box.  
*   If you still want to close your account, click “Continue.”

## Can I delete my account?

Turo offers eligible users the option of being fully deleted from our records. To request that Turo delete your personal information, email us at accountclosure@turo.com. We’ll review your account to see if you qualify to be deleted. Turo can’t delete users who have a balance due or an open damage claim. Other exclusions apply.
